跳转至主内容
您的网络浏览器 (Internet Explorer 11) 已经过期。 请更新您的浏览器,以提升安全性和速度,并获得最佳的网站体验。 了解如何更新您的浏览器

威斯康星州 · 伊格尔里弗市

Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)

作为美国首个获得 LEED® 金级认证的公立高中,该校明智地对资源进行利用,既节约了成本,也获得了积极的回报。
在威斯康星州伊格尔里弗市建立 Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)的初衷并非是为了获得 LEED® 金级认证。 但很快有一点变得很明确,那就是 LEED® 金级认证已经唾手可得,因为设计图纸中已经融入了许多可持续性功能。

“这个学区非常重视实用设计,同时还有环保设计。”Mark Hanson 表示。该人士是 Hoffman LLC 公司的 LEED-AP 认证专家和可持续服务总监,其公司位于威斯康星州阿普尔顿,负责 Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)的设计/建造工作。

对于该学区想要进行正式的 LEED 金级认证一事,Hanson 表示整个公司都对这一决定感到“兴奋”。 然而,还有一个问题尚待解决。 因为设计阶段就开始按照 LEED 金级评级的要求进行了规划,所以现在的问题是: 基于目前的项目进展,如何从预算中排除掉额外的必要成本,去争取更高的评级? 29 百万美元预算中的一分一厘都已被指定用于特定支出。 大多数项目到了这个阶段都很难再对预算进行重新分配,进而支付额外的调试和认证费用。

LEED 评级的内部领先优势: 有两个因素对 Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)非常有利。 第一,许多建筑组件已经符合可持续标准。 “我们公司的理念是,以常规成本获得[至少一个] LEED 银级评级,”Hanson 说。 “我们的项目设计体现了可持续性。 申请正式认证这一决定并没有影响施工。 我们已经开始跟进了。”

设计中已经包含了诸如节水管道之类的可持续组件。 Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)安装了 22 个仕龙免冲水式小便池以及超过 40 个仕龙手动 UPPERCUT® 双冲式冲洗阀。拉下手柄,可进行标准的 1.6 加仑冲水;推上手柄,用水还可以减少半加仑。 用户通过卫生间的标牌便能了解到这一节水功能。 卫生间内还使用了仕龙 Optima® 感应式水龙头,非常高效,流量可以达到 0.5 加仑/分钟,最大流量为 2.2 加仑/分钟。

其次,该设计/建设公司推出了成本交易这一概念,通过将成本抽出项目预算的方式抵消额外的资金需求。 Hanson 表示,尽管学校的预算成本不像商业项目那样还有回旋的余地,但仍旧可以通过评估不同的价格方案来实实在在地削减成本。

例如,设计团队发现,在校内 49,570 平方英尺的室内运动场改用了小型号的制冷机后,造成的唯一影响便是:在极端炎热的天气下,温度会升高 2 到 3 度。 选择这样一台比原有制冷机轻 65 吨但性能更佳的型号,所带来的温度波动的风险是可以接受的,同时也可以节省资金以备他用。

责任感驱动下的可持续性努力: Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)是出于自愿采取这些高效措施的,并没有受到强迫。相反,这样的决定本身就是明智的。 这些节水举措就是一个绝佳的例证。

“我们所处的位置如同沙特阿拉伯中西部地区一样,拥有着丰富的水资源。”Hanson 指的是五大湖区域,那里拥有世界上五分之一的地表淡水资源。

然而,不管是从资金还是从全局角度来看,规划人员关心的都是水资源的合理利用问题,所以最终选择安装的都是节水型管道产品,与此同时,也结合考虑了外围不需要进行户外浇水的绿化布局。 Hanson 表示,虽然许多的项目决策最终都可以归结为纯粹的“金钱问题”,但对效率的重视也与当地居民的价值观不谋而合:我们要对自己的行为负责,要符合常理。 “即便是威斯康星州的乡村民众,也会认同这一点。”他说。

能够比类似规模的学校用水更少,就能节省资金,形成良性发展。 “当你真正去计算的时候就会发现,从市政当局购水的成本每年会上涨 15,000 美元。 我们认为应该能够节省 40% 甚至更多的成本,一年下来就能节省 7,000 美元。” 总之,Hanson 说:“这样做是负责任的。”

这样一来,Hanson 补充道:“我们的节水量将会非常可观。” 此外,由于Northland Pines High School(诺思兰·派恩斯高中)已经证实了免冲水式小便池等产品物有所值,其他校区的学校也开始自行升级低耗水管道,进一步扩大职责和行动范围。

当你真正去计算的时候,就会发现从市政当局购水的成本每年会上涨 15,000 美元。 我们认为应该能够节省 40% 甚至更多的成本,一年下来就能节省 7,000 美元。

Mark Hanson

LEED-AP 认证专家,Hoffman LLC 公司可持续服务总监

Eagle River, WI

Northland Pines High School

The nation’s first LEED® Gold certified public high school demonstrates the cost effectiveness and positive tradeoffs of using resources wisely.
Going for Gold wasn’t part of the plan during the early stages of building Northland Pines High School in Eagle River, Wis. It soon became apparent, though, that becoming LEED® Gold certified was easily within reach with design plans that already incorporated many sustainability features.

"The school district was interested in a practical design, but also in a design that was environmentally responsible," says Mark Hanson, LEED-AP and director of sustainable services for Hoffman LLC in Appleton, Wis., the design/build firm for Northland Pines.

Hanson says that his company was "thrilled" that the school district chose to pursue formal LEED certification at the Gold rating level. There was one hitch, however. Because the decision to go for a LEED Gold rating occurred well into the design phase, the question was: How do you squeeze the additional necessary costs out of the budget to achieve a higher rating this late in the process? Every dollar in the $29 million budget had already been earmarked for specific expenditures. For most projects at this point, it would be difficult to reallocate the budget to pay for the extra commissioning and certification costs.

A Built-In Lead on LEED: Two factors worked in Northland Pines’ favor. For one, many building components were already sustainable. “Our philosophy as a firm is you should be able to achieve [at least a] LEED Silver rating at a conventional cost,” says Hanson. “We had designed sustainability into the project. The decision to go for formal certification didn’t alter the building. We were already tracking there.”

Sustainable components such as water-efficient plumbing were already part of the plan. Northland Pines installed 22 Sloan Waterfree Urinals and more than 40 of Sloan’s manual UPPERCUT® dual-flush flushometers, which flush at the standard 1.6 gallons of water with a pull down on the handle or with half a gallon less with a push up. Signage in the restroom stalls educates users about this water-saving feature. Restrooms also use Sloan Optima® sensor-activated faucets running at an efficient flow rate of 0.5 gallons per minute as opposed to the maximum of 2.2 gpm.

Second, the design/build firm encourages the concept of cost trading, which offsets additional funding needs by pulling costs out of the project. Hanson said that although there’s not as much budgetary wiggle room with schools as there can be with commercial projects, there are still ways to responsibly trim costs by evaluating the value of different choices.

The design team downsized the chiller originally specified for the school’s 49,570-square-foot fieldhouse, for example, when it realized that the only real tradeoff would be that the temperature could drift up 2 to 3 degrees on an extremely hot day. Going with a chiller that was about 65 tons lighter, but a higher level up in the next series down, posed an acceptable risk in temperature fluctuation while freeing up money for other uses.

Sustainability for the Sake of Responsibility: Northland Pines certainly wasn’t mandated to take the efficiency measures that it chose to make; these decisions just made sense. Initiatives to save water are a good example.

"We're sitting in the upper Midwest in the Saudi Arabia of water resources," Hanson says, referring broadly to the Great Lakes, which contain one-fifth of the world’s fresh surface water.

Yet, planners' watchful eye on using water wisely—from both a fiscal and a resourcefulness point of view—led them to install water-efficient plumbing products and to put in landscaping that doesn’t require outdoor watering. Hanson said that while for many projects, those decisions come down simply to “money matters,” the focus on efficiency here also aligned with personal values of responsible, common sense behavior that local residents appreciate. “In a rural Wisconsin community, that speaks to people,” he says.

The monetary savings from using less water compared to a like-sized school are very healthy. "When you actually calculate your cost to buy water from the municipality, it's an annual appreciation of $15,000 per year. We thought we should be able to cut that by 40% or better and save $7,000 a year." In any case, Hanson says, "It was the responsible thing to do."

In so doing, Hanson adds, “We’re realizing an appreciable water savings.” Plus, now that Northland Pines has proven that products such as Waterfree Urinals are worthwhile, other area schools are starting to do their own share of low-consumption plumbing upgrades, extending the reach of responsible behavior even further.

When you actually calculate your cost to buy water from the municipality, it's an annual appreciation of $15,000 per year. We thought we should be able to cut that by 40% or better and save $7,000 a year.

Mark Hanson

LEED-AP and Director of Sustainable Services for Hoffman LLC