跳转至主内容
您的网络浏览器 (Internet Explorer 11) 已经过期。 请更新您的浏览器,以提升安全性和速度,并获得最佳的网站体验。 了解如何更新您的浏览器

印第安纳州 · 西拉法叶

普渡大学

普渡大学的工程师团队证实:仕龙 UPPERCUT 双冲式冲洗阀可以减少高达 50% 的用水量。
任凭你将一款产品的性能说的如何天花乱坠,都比不上冰冷确切的数据来得有效,也更令人信服。 当普渡大学的高级机械工程师 Michael Carson 第一次听说 UPPERCUT® 双冲式冲洗阀时,他对此深表怀疑。

“我们很好奇这款产品是否真的如此与众不同。”Carson 还记得,当他和他的同事受邀参加 UPPERCUT 的测试时曾有此疑问。当时的测试地点就位于普渡大学在印第安纳州西西拉法叶的主校区。

仕龙 UPPERCUT 双冲式技术既可以作为整套冲洗阀的一部分,亦可包含在手柄改良套件中,从而将现有的手动式冲洗阀改装为节水型双冲式冲洗阀。

用户在使用双冲式手柄时有两种冲水方案可供选择: 向上抬起手柄,可进行 1.1 加仑/冲 (gpf) 的冲水,下压手柄,可进行标准的 1.6 加仑/冲 的冲水。 普渡大学最初决定安装 12 个 UPPERCUT 双冲式手柄,用以改造两座行政大楼内的女卫生间。 Carson 和他的工程团队选择了印刷服务和通讯大楼,因为这两座建筑都有良好的历史用水记录。卫生间管道设施是其仅有的主要水源,而且大楼内的办公人员大多数为女性。

“我们认为大楼中女性越多,越能更好地观察用水量的差异”,Carson 解释说。
2005. 年 7 月,普渡大学在这两座建筑物的女卫生间中安装了 UPPERCUT 双冲式手柄。UPPERCUT 手柄安装在女卫生间的隔间中,且手柄的标志上还写着基本使用说明。

Carson 和他的团队仔细检查了建筑物内水表的每月用水量数据,结果表明,设备安装前后的用水量差异明显。

2004 年 7 月至 2005 年 6 月(UPPERCUT 安装前),印刷服务大楼平均每月的用水量为 10,228 加仑。2006 年 7 月至 2007 年 6 月(UPPERCUT 安装后),平均每月的用水量下降到 5,803 加仑。 这就相当于用水量减少了约 43%。

通讯大楼,平均每月用水量大约从(2004 年 7 月 - 2005 年 6 月)12,229 加仑下降到 8,622 加仑(2006 年 7 月 - 2007 年 6 月),总的中位数下降了近 30%。 个别月份的数据对比显示,下降幅度甚至超过 50%。

“这些都是直接从水表处抄录的数据,”Carson 表示。 在研究期间,卫生洁具或用水设施的唯一改变就是安装了 UPPERCUT 手柄。

普渡大学的水费为 91.7 美分每 1,000 加仑,废水成本为 5.34 美元/1,000 加仑。节水能够降低水电费支出,也就意味着学校内安装了双冲式手柄后,可以在不到一年的时间内收回成本。

West Lafayette, IN

Purdue University

Team of engineers at Purdue University validate that Sloan’s UPPERCUT dual flush Flushometer can reduce water usage by up to 50%
Talk all you want about how well a product works, but there's nothing like cold, hard data to prove a point and make someone a believer. When Michael Carson, senior mechanical engineer at Purdue University, first heard about UPPERCUT® dual-flush flushometers, he was skeptical.

"We were curious as to whether it would make a difference," Carson remembers thinking when he and his co-horts were offered a chance to test UPPERCUT at Purdue’s main campus in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Sloan's UPPERCUT dual-flush technology is available as part of a complete Flushometer or in handle retrofit kits for converting existing manual Flushometers to water-efficient dual-flush capability.

The dual-flush handle offers users two flush options: Tilt the handle up to flush with 1.1 gallons per flush (gpf) of water, or push it down for a standard 1.6 gpf flush. Purdue decided initially to retrofit the women’s restrooms in two of its administrative buildings with a total of 12 UPPERCUT dual-flush handles. Carson and his engineering team chose the printing services and telecommunications buildings because both buildings have good historical water-use information, restroom plumbing fixtures are the buildings’ only major water source, and women comprise a high proportion of the buildings populations.

"We suspected that having more women would give us a better chance of seeing a difference" in water usage, Carson explains.
Purdue installed the UPPERCUT dual-flush handles in the women’s restrooms of these two buildings in July 2005. Basic usage instructions are shown on signs, which come with the UPPERCUT handles and are mounted on the women’s restroom stalls.

Carson and his team have closely examined the monthly water-use data from the buildings’ water meters, and the figures tell an interesting before-and-after story.

In the printing services building, water use dropped from an average of 10,228 gallons a month from July 2004 to June 2005 (before the UPPERCUTs) to 5,803 gallons a month from July 2006 to June 2007 (after installation). That equates to about a 43% decrease in water usage.

In the telecommunications building, water use dropped from about 12,229 gallons a month (July 2004-June 2005) to 8,622 gallons (July 2006-June 2007) for a total median decrease of nearly 30%. Some single month-to-month comparisons yield a drop of more than 50%.

"The numbers are straight water meter readings," says Carson. The installation of the UPPERCUT handles was the only change in plumbing fixtures or water usage made during the studied period.

Based on Purdue’s water cost of 91.7 cents per 1,000 gallons and its wastewater cost of $5.34/1,000 gallons, the reduction in utility costs due to the water savings means that the dual-flush handles would pay for themselves in less than a year.