加利福尼亚州 · 圣巴巴拉

加州大学圣塔芭芭拉分校

节水管道帮助该院校的 Bren Hall 实验楼获得了 LEED® 铂金认证,向可持续发展目标迈进了一大步。
对于那些着眼于改善管道系统的建筑设施而言,获得LEED® 认证可能并非是项目的终极目标,但却能够引领他们进一步提高用水和/或能源效率。

例如,加州大学圣塔芭芭拉分校 (UCSB) 环境科学与管理学院所在地 — Donald Bren Hall(唐纳德·布伦大厅)的初衷便是:将环境问题作为建筑项目团队的优先考虑事项,而且最终也获得了 LEED 认证。 当项目团队发现许多已经规划好的建筑设施符合 LEED 信用分要求后,便争取到了额外资金用于购买剩余的建筑设施,并正式申请 LEED 认证。

Bren Hall 于 2002 年获得了 LEED 铂金认证,并被评为美国最环保的实验室设施。 自此整个大学都在努力推动所有建筑物达到更高的可持续性标准。 UCSB 正在将 LEED 作为可持续性项目的基准,希望透过其合规性获得其他的经济和环境效益。

根据学校可持续经理的说法,UCSB 的目标是要在 Title 24(《加州建筑标准规范》)的标准之上再提升 20%。 该大学在校园内推动的可持续性运动与 USGBC(美国绿色建筑委员会)通过加强 LEED 标准和措施来“提高建筑合规门槛”的做法如出一辙。 从本质上讲,USGBC 与该大学一致认为,在已有的成就之上通过不断挑战并培养目标意识,就能够提高可持续性。

付出越多,收获越多: 即便是在五年前,购买符合 LEED 合规标准的环保建筑组件也可能会导致总的建筑成本增加 10%,但现如今建筑师和其他规范制定者却发现,不必花费额外的费用便可以实现更高的可持续性标准。 然而,要想费用不超支,就要跟其他的采购活动一样先进行前期调研,这样才能确定采用不同系统和技术的增值和收益问题。

对于许多管道系统而言,初次购买低消耗或低流量洁具会比高消耗洁具的花费略高(如果有的话)。 但真正的价值主张来自于削减长期运营成本,包括用水和污水处理费,以及为水龙头和淋浴头加热水所产生的能源费用。

这就使仕龙管道产品和系统成为了不二之选。 仕龙的低消耗冲洗阀仅需一品脱水便可完成小便池的冲洗,只需 1.28 加仑/冲 的用水量便可冲洗座便器,而且价格与其他用水量更多的洁具型号相差无几。 在不影响性能或可靠性的情况下,Bren Hall 等建筑的用水量明显减少。

虽然感应式水龙头比典型的商业级手动型号贵,但从长远来看却能够节省资金。 UCSB 已经安装了仕龙感应式水龙头,搭载 0.5-加仑/分钟 的起泡器,而传统的手动水龙头,人们在涂皂液的过程中通常不关水,导致持续出水,二者相比,前者每次使用能够节省 1 加仑的用水。

UCSB 正在以各种方式复制 Bren Hall 成功模式,并在校园内的其他地方采用了不同的技术组合。 Girvetz Hall 大楼于 2006, 年获得 LEED-EB 银级认证,楼内安装的便是仕龙的 UPPERCUT® 手动双冲式冲洗阀。

UPPERCUT 是第一款商业级双冲式冲洗阀。用户可以选择按下手动冲洗阀手柄进行完全冲水,或是将其拉起进行节水冲水。 虽然现在要了解该所大学通过双冲式冲洗阀节约的用水量还为时过早,但是对于这项能够进一步推动 UCSB 可持续性发展的技术,学生团体和教职工都表示非常支持。

Santa Barbara, CA

University of California Santa Barbara

Water-efficient plumbing helps university secure LEED® Platinum certification at Bren Hall and goes a long way toward meeting its sustainability objectives.
For buildings and facilities with an eye on improving their plumbing systems, LEED® is the guide for becoming more water- and/or energy-efficient even though it may not be the end-all project objective.

For example, achieving LEED certification was not the initial goal for Donald Bren Hall, home of the School of Environmental Science & Management at the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), even though environmental issues were a priority for the building project team. After discovering that many planned building features were eligible for LEED credits, the project team was able to secure the modest additional funding needed to purchase remaining building features for officially securing LEED certification.

Bren Hall achieved the LEED Platinum designation in 2002 and has been recognized as the greenest laboratory facility in the U.S. Since then, there has been a campus-wide push to have all buildings attain higher standards for sustainability. UCSB is using LEED as the benchmark for its sustainability projects to reap the other monetary and environmental benefits that come with compliance

According to the campus sustainability manager, UCSB’s intent was to surpass Title 24 (California Building Standards Code) by 20%. The university’s push for campus-wide sustainability coincides with how the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is “upping the ante” by strengthening LEED standards and measures. In essence, the USGBC and the university agree that improvements in sustainability will come by continuously challenging and raising the goals for its achievement.

Pay Little More Now, Gain Even More Later: Although even five years ago, purchasing environmentally sound building components for meeting LEED compliance standards could add upward of 10% to the total building cost, architects and other specifiers are now finding that they can adopt higher sustainability standards without necessarily spending anything extra. As with any purchase, however, staying within budget is a matter of doing upfront research to determine the value-add and payoff of specifying different systems and technologies.

In the case of many plumbing systems, low-consumption or low-flow fixtures cost little, if any, more than higher-consumption fixtures at initial purchase. The real value proposition comes from slashing long-term operating costs, including water and wastewater utility bills, plus the energy it takes to heat water for faucets and showerheads, for example.

That made specifying Sloan plumbing products and systems a natural decision. Sloan’s low-consumption Flushometers, which utilize as little as a pint of water for urinal models or 1.28 gpf for water closet models, are priced no differently than models flushing with more water. Without compromising performance or reliability, facilities such as Bren Hall can significantly reduce their water usage.

Although sensor-activated faucets are pricier than typical commercial-grade manual models, their savings are realized over time. UCSB has installed Sloan sensor-activated faucets with 0.5-gpm aerators, which save as much as 1 gallon per use compared to manual faucets that are usually left running during lathering.

UCSB is now replicating its success at Bren Hall in various ways and with different technology combinations elsewhere on campus. In Girvetz Hall, for example, which achieved LEED-EB Silver certification in 2006, the university has installed Sloan’s UPPERCUT® manual dual-flush Flushometers.

UPPERCUT, the first commercially available dual-flush flushometer, gives users the option of pushing down the manual flush valve handle for a full flush or pulling it up for a reduced flush. Although it’s too early for the university to tell how much water the dual-flush Flushometers are saving, the student body and faculty are very supportive of technologies that further UCSB’s commitment to sustainability.