密歇根州 · 新布法罗

密歇根州交通部

密歇根州交通部 (MDOT) 在其 18 个公共休息区/接待中心发起了节水措施,其中包括安装 165 个仕龙免冲水式小便池,每年为大约 40 千万的游客提供服务。
为了方便游客,MDOT 在主要高速公路和公路沿线共运营和维护 81 个休息区,其中有 14 个休息区同时也是国有旅游机构 Travel Michigan 运营的接待中心。 休息区 24/7, 开放,提供各种服务和便利,彼此之间只相隔不到一小时的车程。

从 94, 号州际公路的西侧进入密歇根州时,经过的第一个也是客人最多的休息区就位于密歇根州的新布法罗。 新布法罗接待中心每年接待游客约 1.6 万人次。休息区可容纳 96 辆汽车,35 辆卡车和多辆休闲车,同时还有一个开放式的场地。 大约 22% 的密歇根休息区安装了节水型免冲水式小便池。

“大多数密歇根州的休息区都位于农村地区,远离城市用水和污水,”MDOT 项目经理 Scott Wheeler 说。 “我们的许多休息区都建有化粪池系统,尤其是污水池系统。 我们必须选择一种不会给化粪池系统和污水池系统带来额外负担的尿液清除系统,当然,该系统同时也要具备节水功能。”

污水池系统是化粪池系统的一种替代方案,特别是对于土地成本较低的农村地区而言具有很高的性价比。 污水池系统由一个或多个污水池/污水塘组成,用于接收、储存和处理污水。 与其他绝大多数系统相比,它们可以更好地处理间歇性和大量的突加载荷,是休息站的理想选择。

“我们选择了免冲水式小便池,因为该设备可以减少用水并降低污水处理成本,无需水管接线图便可安装,降低维护和修理成本,有助于打造更卫生、无异味的洗手间。”Wheeler 说。

免冲水式小便池使用专利滤芯产品进行杂物过滤,尿液流经专有的、可生物降解的密封剂液体后得到处理。 尿液和洗手间之间隔着一层有香味的液体,提供了一种单向的密闭屏障,防止气味从排水管中溢出。 一次性滤芯可收集尿液沉淀物,有助于创建干净、无异味的环境。

Wheeler 说,“维护很简单。只要对清洁人员进行培训,教会他们正确的清洁方法以及免冲水式小便池的滤芯更换方式,休息区就能保持正常运行,持续向公众开放。”

唯一的维护工作就是要对设备进行定期清洁,并在使用了大约 7,000 次后,定期更换滤芯。 由于滤芯中排水孔尺寸较小,诸如烟头或口香糖之类的垃圾不太可能堵塞免冲水式小便池,因此轻易便可将其从座便器中移除。

使用的产品

WES-1000

瓷质陶瓷免冲水小便池

WES-4000

瓷质陶瓷免冲水小便池

WES-7000

瓷质陶瓷免冲水小便池

New Buffalo, MI

Michigan Department of Transportation

The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) has installed 165 Sloan Waterfree Urinals as part of a water conservation measure in 18 of its public rest areas/welcome centers, which altogether serve about 40 million visitors a year.
MDOT operates and maintains 81 rest areas along major freeways and roadways for the convenience of the traveling public, 14 of which are also Welcome Centers operated by Travel Michigan, a state tourism organization. Rest areas are open 24/7, offer a variety of services and conveniences, and are located within an hour’s travel time of each other.

Upon entering the state of Michigan from the west on Interstate 94, the first and most-used of the Michigan rest areas is in New Buffalo, Michigan. The New Buffalo Welcome Center receives close to 1.6 million visitors annually. The rest area has space for 96 cars and 35 trucks and RVs and a universally accessible playground. Approximately 22% of Michigan rest areas have water-conserving Waterfree Urinals installed.

“Most Michigan rest areas are in rural locations, away from city water and sewage,” says Scott Wheeler, program manager for MDOT. “Many of our rest areas are on septic systems and especially septic lagoon systems. We had to choose a urine removal system that would not put an additional burden on the septic and septic lagoon systems and, of course, save water.”

A lagoon septic system is a type of alternative septic system and can be very cost effective, particularly in rural areas where the cost of land is lower. Lagoon septic systems consist of one or more lagoons/ponds designed to receive, hold and treat wastewater. They can handle intermittent and very large, sudden loads better than most other types of systems, making them ideal for rest stops.

“We chose Waterfree Urinals because they reduce water and sewer costs, are easy to install and require no water hookups, reduce maintenance and repair bills, and create more hygienic, odor-free restrooms,” says Wheeler.

The Waterfree Urinal uses a patented cartridge that acts as a funnel, permitting urine to pass through a proprietary and biodegradable sealant liquid. The pleasant-smelling liquid provides a one-way, airtight barrier between urine and the restroom to prevent odors from escaping the drain. The disposable cartridge collects uric sediment, leaving a clean, odor-free environment.

According to Wheeler, “Maintenance is straightforward, and we train our janitorial staff on proper cleaning and replacement of the Waterfree Urinal cartridges, keeping the system operational and open to the public.”

The only maintenance required is routine cleaning of the fixture and periodic cartridge replacement, which is performed after about 7,000 uses. Debris such as cigarette butts or gum is less likely to clog a Waterfree Urinal due to the small size of the drain holes in the cartridge and can be easily removed from the bowl.

Products Used

WES-1000

Vitreous China Waterfree Urinal

WES-4000

Vitreous China Waterfree Urinal

WES-7000

Vitreous China Waterfree Urinal