仕龙卫生间国际指南

如果您认为使用卫生间是一项非常简单的活动,那就大错特错了。 在不同文化和世界各地,人们使用厕所的方式和厕所的功能有很大差异。

对大多数美国人来说,花钱上厕所是一个陌生的概念,但在世界上许多地方,这实际上是一种常态。 自动付费厕所在欧洲和亚洲无处不在,在东欧,您更有可能在门口遇到现场服务员。 是的,他们应该得到小费。 想想他们八小时的工作所涉及的内容。

在“厕所餐厅”(用微型马桶盛汤)的发源地台湾,您经常需要付钱使用卫生纸。 在印度,大多数付费厕所由社会服务组织 Sulabh International 经营,该组织利用这些利润在卫生条件差的地区经营厕所。 德国服务站中厕所的做法非常有趣。 您在进入时需要支付一小笔费用,在退出时将会获得退款凭证。 这里的厕所一定非常精彩,不然经营者怎么会觉得需要金钱激励才能让人们离开呢?

厕所本身比其付费安排更为多样化。 在亚洲,您会发现“蹲式厕所”,这是一种嵌入地板的陶瓷容器,可以蹲在上面。 而在日本和德国的测试片非常具有异国情调。 日本的电动厕所内置有白噪声系统,许多德国人使用的是一种称为“冲水厕所”的神奇装置,马桶内设有一个平台,允许用户在冲水前检查沉积物。 

世界各地的厕所如此不同,您可能想知道旅行者可以做些什么来应对意外情况。 首先,承认准备的必要性。 普通人每天使用厕所 6 - 8 次。 如果您在外国旅行,这些旅行可以是小消遣,也可以是大故事,具体取决于您做了多少准备。 最重要的是,带上(免洗)净手消毒液! 许多设施在使用厕所后没有皂液和水来洗手,所以(免洗)净手消毒液至关重要。

此外,随身准备一些零用钱,以防付费厕所是您当下的唯一选择(如果您没有现金,请记住大多数餐馆、博物馆和历史遗址通常都有免费厕所)。 最后,考虑带上一把伞。 当然,这既古怪又繁琐,但国外一些公共厕所可能缺乏隐私,给您造成不便。 一旦您发现自己陷入这种困境,一把伞就会变得非常实用。

Sloan’s International Guide to Bathrooms

Added April 14, 2016

If you think using the restroom is a pretty straightforward activity, think again. There’s remarkable variations in the way people access toilets and the way toilets function, across cultures, and around the world.

Paying to use a toilet is a foreign notion for most Americans, but it’s actually the norm in many parts of the world. Automated pay toilets are ubiquitous throughout Europe and Asia and in Eastern Europe you’re more likely to encounter live attendants at the door. And yes, they should be tipped. Think of what’s involved in their eight-hour workday.

In Taiwan, home of the Modern Toilet Restaurant (that serves soup in miniature toilet bowls), you’ll often be required to pay for toilet paper. In India, most pay toilets are operated by the social service organization, Sulabh International, which uses the profits to operate toilets in areas with poor sanitation. German service stations have an interesting arrangement with their customers. Expect to pay a small fee for entry, but also receive a voucher for a refund upon exit. The toilets must be pretty spectacular if operators feel the need to incentivize people to leave.

Even more foreign than the pay arrangements associated with many toilets abroad, are the toilets themselves. All across Asia you’ll find “squat toilets,” which are porcelain receptacles built into the floor to be squatted over. On the other end of the spectrum, both Japan and Germany have toilets with some very exotic features. Electric Japanese toilets have white noise systems built into them and many Germans are using a contraption called a “washout toilet,” which has a platform built inside the bowl to allow users to inspect deposits before they flush. 

With all this variation you may be wondering what a traveler can do to prepare for the unexpected. First, acknowledge the need for preparation. The average person uses a toilet 6-8 times per day. If you’re on the go in a foreign country, those trips can either be small diversions or big stories, depending on how much you’ve prepared. Most important, bring hand sanitizer! Many facilities don’t have soap and water to wash your hands after the use of the toilet, so hand sanitizer is crucial.

Also, keep some pocket change on hand at all times, in case a pay toilet is your only option in the moment (and if you’re out of money, remember most restaurants, museums and historic sites often have free toilets). Finally, consider bringing an umbrella with you. Sure, it’s eccentric and cumbersome, but you may be astonished by the lack of privacy in some public toilets abroad. And if you’re a modest person, an umbrella will feel quite practical once you find yourself stumbling into these situations.