伊利诺伊州 · 芝加哥

Chicago Center for Green Technology(芝加哥绿色科技中心)

LEED® Platinum 可持续教育和倡议资源中心使用节能的仕龙 XLERATOR® 干手机。
1995, 年,芝加哥环境部(CDOE)面临着艰巨的任务。 CDOE开始清理某公司非法倾倒的超过 17 英亩、600,000 吨混凝土和建筑垃圾。虽然该公司获准收集和回收拆建物料,但这已远远超过其许可的参数。

CDOE 将该公司告上法庭后胜诉,不仅关闭了其业务,而且还成为该场地的所有者。 然后,清理棕色地带就是 CDOE 的工作。 为期 18 个月的清理工作运走了超过 45,000 卡车的碎片,其中一些被回收并用于其他市政项目,例如 Chicago’s Millennium Park(芝加哥千禧公园)的停车库基地。

到 1999, 年,CDOE 自豪地拥有干净且未受污染的场地及空置建筑。 CDOE 抓住机会设计可持续建筑,并将其转变为新的 Chicago Center for Green Technology(芝加哥绿色技术中心)。

“这是展示城市景观中的旧建筑可以进行最高环境可持续性改造的绝佳机会,”芝加哥市项目协调员 Sarah Moloney 说。

该建筑成为全国第一座获得 LEED® Platinum 评级的修复市政建筑。 建于 1952, 年,该建筑现在展示了超过 40,000 平方英尺的最先进的环境特征,包括光能板、雨水收集灌溉、再生材料、智能照明、地热交换系统和绿色屋顶。

该中心拥有众多专注于环境和可持续设计的公司。 还充当社区资源和 CDOE 卫星办公室,提供超过 150 门专业人士和业主的教育课程。

该中心还测试了最新的绿色技术,决定通过安装两台高速 XLERATOR® 干手机,在自己的设施中安装节能型干手机。 干手机具有定制的图形面板和“对环境有益”的教育性信息,告知卫生间访客有关节水的好处。

与使用纸巾相比,XLERATOR 干手机可节省 95% 的成本,不用纸巾也使卫生间更清洁、更易于维护。 “每年访客超过 30,000 人,我们使用了大量的纸巾,”Moloney 说。
不同于传统的干手机,其干燥时间平均为 30-45 秒,XLERATOR 干手机可在 10-15 秒内完全干燥,使用的能量比传统干手机少 80%。 根据 Moloney,“客人对这款干手机非常满意,并对其工作速度感到惊讶!”

XLERATOR 是唯一一款 Made In USA Certified™ 的干手机,也是第一款 GreenSpec® 列出的干手机。 由于节能,XLERATOR 干手机可帮助设施获得 LEED 评分。

使用的产品

EHD-501

Sloan® XLERATOR® 传感器驱动的壁挂式干手机

EHD-502

Sloan® XLERATOR® 传感器驱动的壁挂式干手机

Chicago, IL

Chicago Center for Green Technology

LEED® Platinum resource center for sustainable education and initiatives uses energy-efficient Sloan XLERATOR® hand dryers.
In 1995, the Chicago Department of Environment (CDOE) faced a formidable task. CDOE began clean-up of over 17 acres and 600,000 tons of concrete and construction debris dumped illegally by a company that was permitted to collect and recycle construction and demolition material but that had far exceeded the parameters of its permit.

The CDOE successfully fought the company in court and not only closed down its operation but became the owner of the site itself. It was then CDOE's job to clean up this brownfield. The 18-month clean-up involved hauling over 45,000 truckloads of debris off the property, some of which was recycled and used in other municipal projects such as for the parking garage foundation at Chicago’s Millennium Park.

By 1999, CDOE was the proud owner of a clean, uncontaminated site with a vacant building. CDOE seized the opportunity to design a sustainable building and to convert it into the new Chicago Center for Green Technology.

“This was the perfect opportunity to show that old buildings in urban landscapes can be renovated to the highest level of environmental sustainability,” says Sarah Moloney, project coordinator for the City of Chicago.

The building became the nation’s first rehabilitated municipal building to receive LEED® Platinum rating. Erected in 1952, the building now showcases over 40,000 square feet of state-of-the-art environmental features, including solar panels, rainwater collection for irrigation, recycled materials, smart lighting, a geothermal exchange system and a green roof.

The Center is home to a number of companies that focus on environmental and sustainable design. It also acts as a community resource and CDOE satellite office, offering more than 150 educational classes for professionals and homeowners.

The Center, which also tests the latest in green technology, decided to put energy-efficient hand dryers to the test in its own facility by installing two high-speed XLERATOR® hand dryers. The dryers have custom graphic covers with an educational “Good for the Environment” message to inform restroom visitors about the efficiency benefits.

XLERATOR hand dryers offer a 95% cost savings compared to paper towel use, and doing away with paper towels also keeps the restrooms cleaner and easier to maintain. “With over 30,000 visitors per year, we were using an awful lot of paper towels,” says Moloney.
Unlike conventional hand dryers, which average 30-45 seconds of drying time, XLERATOR dryers completely dry hands in 10-15 seconds and use 80% less energy than conventional hand dryers. According to Moloney, “Guests are totally satisfied with this hand dryer and are amazed by how quickly it works!”

XLERATOR is also the only hand dryer to be Made In USA Certified™ and the first hand dryer to be GreenSpec® listed. Because of the energy savings, XLERATOR dryers help facilities qualify for LEED credits.

Products Used

EHD-501

Sloan® XLERATOR® Sensor-Operated Wall - Surface Hand Dryer

EHD-502

Sloan® XLERATOR® Sensor-Operated Wall - Surface Hand Dryer